Trainer

January was a harder month for me for some reason. Staying motivated has been a struggle; maybe it’s the cold, maybe I’m bored, maybe I feel like I wasn’t seeing changes, maybe I’m just plain lazy. Whatever the reason there really shouldn’t be any excuses. I decided to schedule an appointment with a trainer. I’ve been trying to read more about not only losing weight but really getting cut and seeing real muscle definition. There is SO much information and I had absolutely no idea where to begin. Meeting with a trainer was HUGELY helpful. First of all, we discovered that I’m not eating enough calories. When you are trying to lose weight it’s really easy to think the fewer calories the better. But in reality you are just destroying your metabolism like that and that’s not good at all! We estimated that I average around 1,000 calories a day and I need, no HAVE to be between 1,200 and 1,500 calories, no less. I also need to add more carbs into my diet. I eat virtually no grains right now so any carbs I’m getting are in veggies but I need to be eating a bit more than that and add it to my diet slowly. So I’ll be adding carbs to one meal a day one day, then carbs to two meals a day the next and so on for up to four meals a day with carbs then back to zero days, one day, etc.

We also talked about my workout routine. I’m a big spin person and will do it every single day. I cannot do that anymore! More for fear of injury than anything. So she said I can continue to do spin but every other day and that I should probably mix in some Yoga or BodyFlow and could also add more Step or Ripped in for additional cardio days. On top of that she showed me some full body resistance workouts that I need to be doing 2-3 days a week. I could also do the upper body parts of that on days I do Spin or some other leg heavy day. I’ll be meeting with her again in a few weeks to see how things are going and change any workouts that need to be adjusted. I’m super pumped to have this new plan and know exactly what I need to be doing.

Today was weigh day for me and I’m down 3 pounds for the month. I was hoping for 6 but a loss is a loss so I’ll take it. Hopefully making these changes to my diet and workout routine will move things along more in February.

Current Weight: 180lbs

22840-Fitness-Quote

Leave a comment